Lupin gluten-free high in protein fibre

Lupin Protein

Lupin is a legume from the same family of lentil and chickpea, but it contains up to five times more plant protein & fibre than its counterparts. It is a functional ingredient in gluten-free foods, added to the Lemon Leaf lasagne sheets to provide you with lots of nutritional goodness.

Lupin is a natural functional legume that contains bioactive ingredients that help improve health. It stands out for its high protein and fibre contents as well as phytochemicals, antioxidants, pre- and pro-biotics attributes.1,2

Lupin protein (vegetable protein) is valued for being gluten-free and GMO-free and thus a great protein alternative to any diet choice, either gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian, flexitarian and others.3 In addition, as a plant-based alternative, lupin is healthier and an environmentally friendlier option than animal protein.4

Gluten-free lasagna

Contrary to believe, lupin seed is not a novel food, as it has been used in the Mediterranean, African and Andean regions for many centuries. But only recently this grain has been rediscovered and is growing in popularity, particularly amongst “food-conscious” consumers. Australia is the major grower of lupin with Western Australia production representing 85% of the global market.5

The table below, extracted from Grains & Legumes Nutrition Council (GLNC)5, displays the nutrient composition of legumes per 100g. Note that lupin stands out for protein, fibre, folate, magnesium, and potassium in comparison to other grains. The fat composition is mainly mono-and polyunsaturated fatty acids which are healthy fats known for providing many health benefits.

Lupin gluten-free

Lemon Leaf Lasagnes

Our lasagne sheets are produced in-house from at least 50% lupin flour. The result is a fresh and healthy lasagne layer that is rich in protein, fibre, and in other nutrients listed in the table above, although some are slightly reduced during milling. 

For the vast majority of people eating lupin is totally safe but for a small percentage of the population it may trigger an allergic reaction. This is because lupin is from the same family of peanut & soybean family which contain some allergens, therefore it needs to be declared on food labels.6 Please read the Nutritional Information Panel on our website for more information.

Written by: Elaine Barritt, Registered Nutritionist & Lemon Leaf Co-founder
References:
1. Martínez-Villaluenga C, Zieliński H, Frias J, Piskuła MK, Kozłowska H, Vidal-Valverde C. Antioxidant capacity and polyphenolic content of high-protein lupin products. Food Chem. 2009; 112: 84-88.
2. Awad R.A., Salama W.M., Farahat A.M. Effect of lupin as cheese base substitution on technological and nutritional properties of processed cheese analogue. Acta Sci. Pol. Technol. Aliment. 2014; 13: 55-64.
3. Arenas-Jal M, Suñé-Negre JM, Pérez-Lozano P, García-Montoya E. (2020) Trends in the food and sports nutrition industry: a review. Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr 60:2405–2421.
4. Kinney MJ. Formulating with animal-free ingredients. Food Technol [Internet]. 2019 Jun [cited 2020 Sep 22]:46-56. Available from: https://www.gfi.org/images/uploads/2019/06/IFTJune2019Animalfreeformulations.pdf
5. Grains & Legumes Nutrition Council. Types of Legumes/Lupin. Available from: https://www.glnc.org.au/legumes-2/types-of-legumes/lupins/
6. Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy (ASCIA). Lupin Allergy: Information for patients, consumers and carers. 2019. Available from: https://www.allergy.org.au/